GST: 22 states abolish border check posts after 1 July rollout

Print Topic

New Delhi: As many as 22 states, including Delhi, West Bengal and Maharashtra, have abolished check posts within three days of the implementation of the Goods and Services Tax (GST).

Eight states, including Assam, Punjab, Himachal Pradesh, and some northeastern states, are also in the process of abolishing check posts, a finance ministry statement said.

State border check posts scrutinise material and location-based tax compliance, resulting in delays in delivery of goods and cause environment pollution as trucks queue up for clearance.

One of the key objectives of the GST, which came into effect from 1 July, was to make India a single market where goods and services can flow seamlessly. The other important states which have abolished the check post include Uttar Pradesh, Bihar, Haryana, Gujarat, Madhya Pradesh, Andhra Pradesh, Karnataka, Kerala and Tamil Nadu. With the abolition of check posts, the long queues often witnessed at state borders will not be seen.

Category: news update

facebook share Twitter share Google share


Write Your Comment

Error message here!

Error message here!

Characters Left

Contact - us

Office Address:

18-A, SF, North Avenue Road
Punjabi Bagh West
New Delhi
Postcode: 110026
Email :

Enquiry Form:

Stay Up to Date With What's Happening

  • facebook
  • twitter
  • google plus
  • pinterest
Unsubscribe To Our Regular GST Updates: